On Sunday, December 6th, the Healy Project hosted a reception for old house buffs at the historic Gluek House at 2447 Bryant Avenue South. Listed on the National Register, the house, designed by architect William Kenyon was built for beer magnate John G. Gluek in 1902. The iconic Colonial Revival house has been a Minneapolis landmark for many decades. Owners Evelyn and Gary Hill were kind enough to open all three floors of this extraordinary house to view, all decked out for the holidays. Over 100 guests came to see the house and meet neighbors, Healy homeowners, and other fans of old houses.
Guests’ nametags were imprinted with the names of Minneapolis architects with the object of finding others with the same architect as the one listed on their tag. They then were to write their names on the the tags of those with the same architect. A drawing of nametags would determine who would win a copy of Larry Millett’s book Minnesota’s Own: Preserving Our Grand Homes. At the end of the reception, Healy Project board member Nathaniel Forbes gave a brief talk about the mission of the Healy Project, and then drew the winning nametag. The winner was Mary Hartnett, who had a James MacLeod nametag.